Katrin Eggert

Switzerland: Swiss-US Privacy Shield for data transmission to the US

In 2008, Switzerland concluded a bilateral framework agreement with the US, the Safe Harbour Agreement, on data transmission to the US. The Agreement was contested in a judgement of the European Court of Justice on 6 October, 2015. The Swiss Federal Council did not, however, rescind the agreement. It was necessary, however, for Switzerland to swiftly conclude an agreement corresponding to the EU-US Privacy Shield.

On 11 January, 2017, the Federal Council took note of the creation of a new framework for transmission of personal data from Switzerland to the US. The Swiss Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner (FDPIC) substitutes the rescinded Safe Harbour Agreement with the Swiss-US Privacy Shield.

Pursuant to Art. 6 Para. 1 of the Swiss Data Protection Act (DSG), personal data shall not be transmitted from Switzerland to a foreign country and processed, unless appropriate data protection is guaranteed in such third country. The US has no legislation to guarantee suitable data protection as required by DSG (as also pursuant to (BDSG)). Under the Swiss-US Privacy Shield, Switzerland recognises the adequacy of data protection of US firms certified under the Swiss-US Privacy Shield (analogous to Safe Harbour).

Federal Council member Johann Schneider-Ammann intends to officially confirm this in the next couple of days in a letter to US Secretary of Commerce, Penny S. Pritzker.

The Swiss Federal Council considers the Swiss-US Privacy Shield an improvement on Safe Harbour: The data protection principles applied by the participating companies and the administration and supervision of the framework by US authorities have been strengthened. Cooperation between the US Department of Commerce and the FDPIC will also be intensified. An arbitration body will furthermore be nominated to settle disputes.

Experts are critical about the Swiss-US Privacy Shield: They consider it almost as inadequate as the 2008 Safe Harbour Agreement.

The “Swiss-US Privacy Shield” (virtually) corresponds to the “EU-US Privacy Shield” in substance, which likewise attracts criticism.

Katrin Eggert

Schweiz: Swiss-US Privacy Shield für Datenübermittlungen in die USA

Die Schweiz hatte 2008 ein bilaterales Rahmenabkommen zur Datenübermittlung in die USA, ein so genanntes „Safe Harbor“-Abkommen mit den USA vereinbart. Auch diese Vereinbarung wurde mit dem Urteil am 06. Oktober 2015 des EuGH in Frage gestellt. Der Schweizer Bundesrat hat es zwar nicht für ungültig erklärt. Aber es war erforderlich, dass die Schweiz schnell ein dem EU-US Privacy Shield entsprechendes Abkommen abschließt.

Am 11. Januar 2017 hat der Bundesrat von der Einrichtung eines neuen Rahmens für die Übermittlung von Personendaten aus der Schweiz in die USA Kenntnis genommen. Der Eidgenössische Datenschutz- und Öffentlichkeitsbeauftragte (EDÖB) ersetzt mit dem Swiss-US Privacy Shield das aufgehobene Safe-Harbor-Abkommen.

Gemäß Art. 6 Abs. 1 des Schweizer Datenschutzgesetztes (DSG) dürfen Personendaten aus der Schweiz nur ins Ausland übermittelt und bearbeitet werden, wenn im betreffenden Drittland ein angemessener Datenschutz gewährleistet ist. Die USA verfügt nicht über eine Gesetzgebung, die gemäß dem DSG ein angemessenes Datenschutzniveau gewährleistet (wie auch gemäß Bundesdatenschutzgesetz (BDSG)). Mit dem Swiss-US Privacy Shield erkennt die Schweiz die Angemessenheit des Datenschutzniveaus für solche US-Firmen an, welche sich nach dem Swiss-US Privacy Shield zertifizieren lassen (analog Safe Harbor).

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann will dies in den nächsten Tagen in einem Schreiben an die US-Handelsministerin Penny S. Pritzker offiziell bestätigen.

Der Schweizer Bundesrat sieht im Swiss-US Privacy Shield Verbesserungen zu Safe Harbor: Die Anwendung der Datenschutzprinzipien durch die teilnehmenden Unternehmen, als auch die Verwaltung und Überwachung des Rahmens durch die US-Behörden sind verstärkt worden. Des Weiteren wird die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem US-Department of Commerce und dem EDÖB intensiviert. Zusätzlich wird ein Schlichtungsorgan eingeführt, das Streitigkeiten behandeln soll.

Experten sehen das Swiss-US Privacy Shield kritisch: Es sei fast so ungenügend wie das Safe-Harbor-Abkommen aus dem Jahr 2008.

Das „Swiss-US Privacy Shield“ entspricht inhaltlich (nahezu) dem „EU-US Privacy Shield“, welches genauso in der Kritik steht.

 

Links:

EDÖB deutsch: https://www.edoeb.admin.ch/datenschutz/00626/00753/01405/01406/index.html?lang=de

Englisch: https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start/documentation/media-releases.msg-id-65210.html

(Autorin: Regina Mühlich)