The BvD: Paving the way to our digital future

The Association of Data Protection Officers (BvD) represents the interests of about 1500 company and official data protection officers and consultants in Germany. It was founded in 1989 and is the oldest association representing the interests of the sector. Headquartered in Berlin, we are promoting modern and feasible data protection.

We are determined to increase the awareness of the general public with regard to data protection and the work of the data protection officers. We are working on the ongoing development of data protection in cooperation with politics, the economy and supervisory authorities. In this respect we consider ourselves as paving the way into the digital future. Because the increasing complexity of our communication environment demands a strong association of professional data protectors.

„Data protection is one of the important currencies of our times. By offering clear protection of the data of your customers and partners, you will gain their confidence and strengthen your image and brand.“ Thomas Spaeing, Chairman of the BvD Board.

In the interest of data protection officers

Our members will advise companies and administrations on how to integrate the complex demands of effective data protection into their operational procedures. They will ensure that the processing of personal data will remain compliant with new and amended laws and directives.

Our members maintain their professional know-how through ongoing education and training offered by the association on state of the art developments and technical innovation.

We are constantly adapting the professional profile of the data protection officer to meet new challenges in the field. Our members may bind themselves to this professional profile to thereby guarantee quality and security of data processing.
We will furthermore support our members in their work and with information updates towards exercising their profession. Through workgroups and regional groups, workshops and regular professional conferences, we will offer ongoing exchange with politics , the economy, science und supervisory authorities.

The BvD in numbers

  • founded 1989
  • 1500 members in total
  • 722 company members
  • 169 registered external data protection officers
  • 322 personally bound to the “professional profile”
  • 10 regional groups in Germany
  • 9 workgroups

Cooperation and participation in committees

Lock in the benefits – join the BvD

Why not benefit from 25 years of professional competency and exclusive services to members. More information on your benefits as a member of the BvD.

BvD membership

Der BvD: Wegbereiter für die digitale Zukunft

Der Berufsverband der Datenschutzbeauftragten (BvD) e.V. vertritt die Belange von rund 1.500 betrieblichen und behördlichen Datenschutzbeauftragten und Beratern aus ganz Deutschland. 1989 gegründet, ist er die älteste Interessenvertretung der Branche. Von unserer Geschäftsstelle in Berlin treten wir für einen modernen und machbaren Datenschutz ein.

Unser Ziel ist es, Themen zum Datenschutz und die Arbeit der Datenschutzbeauftragten stärker im Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit zu verankern. Mit Politik, Wirtschaft und den Aufsichtsbehörden arbeiten wir an der Weiterentwicklung des Datenschutzes. Dabei verstehen wir uns als Wegbereiter für die digitale Zukunft. Denn die zunehmende Komplexität unserer Kommunikationsgesellschaft erfordert einen starken Berufsverband für Datenschutzbeauftragte.

„Datenschutz ist eine der wichtigen Erfolgsfaktoren unserer Zeit. Wer die Daten seiner Kunden und Partner erkennbar schützt, gewinnt Vertrauen und stärkt sein Image und seine Marke.“ Thomas Spaeing, BvD-Vorstandsvorsitzender.

Für die Interessen der Datenschutzbeauftragten

Unsere Mitglieder beraten Unternehmen und Verwaltungen, wie sie die komplexen Anforderungen an einen wirksamen Datenschutz in ihre Betriebsabläufe integrieren können. Sie stellen sicher, dass personenbezogene Daten auf der Grundlage neuester Gesetze und Richtlinien rechtskonform verarbeitet werden.

Ihre fachliche Eignung gewinnen unsere Mitglieder in verbandsinternen Fort- und Weiterbildungen zu neuesten Entwicklungen und technischen Fragen.

Um einen hohen Qualitätsanspruch im Datenschutz zu gewährleisten, hat der BvD in Zusammenarbeit mit Aufsichtsbehörden und Datenschutzexperten das Berufsbild des Datenschutzbeauftragten entwickelt und passt dies an die aktuellen Herausforderungen im Datenschutz an. Datenschutzbeauftragte im BvD können sich auf dieses Berufsbild verpflichten und garantieren damit Qualität und Sicherheit in der Ausübung ihrer Tätigkeit in den Unternehmen und Behörden.

Wir unterstützen unsere Mitglieder ferner mit Arbeitshilfen und aktuellen Informationen in der Ausübung ihres Berufs. In Arbeitskreisen und Regionalgruppen, in Workshops und regelmäßigen Fachkonferenzen bieten wir einen permanenten Austausch mit Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Aufsichtsbehörden.

Der BvD in Zahlen

Satzung des BvD

BvD-Geschäftsbericht 2016-2018

Kooperationen und Mitwirkung in Gremien

Vorteile sichern – BvD-Mitglied werden

Profitieren Sie von 25 Jahren Fachkompetenz und exklusiven Leistungen für Mitglieder. Erfahren Sie mehr über die Vorteile Ihrer Mitgliedschaft im BvD.

Die Mitgliedschaft im BvD